Great Himalayan Trail (Nepal)

The Great Himalayan Trail runs East to West in Nepal extending further into India as the Great Western Himalayan Trail through Uttarakhand, Himachal, Ladakh and Kashmir. Recently the GHT was fully mapped in Open Street Maps.

This blog presents an overview of the 24 individual OSM sections using 1:180K scale topo maps across 49 valleys (Khola-s) and 52 mountain passes (Bhanjyang-s) as it traverses through the Koshi, Bagmati, Gondaki, Karnali and Sudurpashchim provinces.

1:50K Topo sheets

Some geographic details are taken from Nepal Toposheets.

Koshi province

6 Sections across 11 valleys and 19 passes

Bagmati province

8 Sections across 11 valleys and 8 passes

Gandaki province

3 Sections across 6 valleys and 6 passes

Karnali province

7 Sections across 13 valleys and 12 passes

Sudurpashchim province

1 Section across 8 valleys and 7 passes